Wrapping things up: The Opening Bell 2nd edition

I’m happy to say that I’ve wrapped my end of editing duties for a while yesterday when I finished up the second edition editing of The Opening Bell.  That’s not to say there isn’t more work to do.  As any writer can tell you, you are your own worst editor.  I have several trusted associated reading over my current drafts to ferret out those lingering typos and illogical sentences.

The most important thing I personally can do now for the process is to let it actually work.  I’ve learned a lot from my first two jaunts down self-publication road, especially from my mistakes.  The biggest one of those mistakes was my impatience.  I didn’t wait for the editing process to finish on its own.  I pushed and pushed and hence need to have second editions.  Lessons learned.

If you’re a writer reading this, how do you approach the editing process?  How extensive a network of beta readers and editors do you think is necessary to ensure a quality product?  How do you even find your readers?

Oh, and do you want to be a beta reader?  There’s still three weeks left!  (This is only somewhat a joke.  If you really do want to beta read my work, I’m always open for it.)

Leave a Reply

