Starving Review: Delilah Dusticle (Delilah Dusticle Book One) by A. J. York

22008525

Delilah Dusticle by A. J. York (Amazon, Smashwords)

Well, as I said in my Warrior Lore review, that was a tasty treat, but my literary hunger wanted more.  Cracking open my next savory treat, I saw it was a children’s book and also nicely snack-sized, so I served up another plate of book goodness for a full meal and, well, I was pleasantly surprised!  Now, before we get to the meat of the review, it’s time for THE GROUND RULES:

  1. I attempt to rate every book from the perspective of a fan of the genre.
  2. I attempt to make every review as spoiler-free as possible.

So sit back and get ready, it’s time to go back in time to when you were a kid in elementary school and crack open Delilah Dusticle!

What else can I start with but ‘oh, the sweet taste of childhood’?  Ms. York knows that taste and infuses it in every page.  Look, there are a lot of great children’s books out there, but there are also a great many bad ones.  They pander to children, talk down to them, or try to push to be too mature too quickly.  They lose the sense of wonder that is so vital to being a child.  Delilah Dusticle has no truck with such garbage!

Instead, this book embraces the remarkable things in the mundane world and the wonders that life has in store.  It doesn’t pander or talk down to anyone and even approaches some fairly mature ideas about some important things that can happen to the young and the old alike, but it doesn’t push a child to go beyond their bounds and grow up too quickly.  The characters are delightful and the heroine of the tale is charming and could be something of a role model, in my eyes.  The ultimate message of the book is also something I believe in whole-heartedly (too bad the law of Anti-Spoiler prevents me from coming out with it, but it is an important part of the book so …. shhhh!).

It’s a short read at around 11,000 words, but that’s right up the alley of a young reader.  The language is colorful but flows easily and the pacing is spot on.  It reminded me fondly of the best books I read and had read to me as a child and I think would stand up well compared to any of those classics.

So, at the end of the meal, I was left sitting back in my chair, the glow of days past in my eyes and that warm feeling in my stomach that can only accompany a perfect meal.  No matter how small in comparison to an adult novel, Delilah Dusticle delivers the perfect sized chunk of joy for its young readers.

FINAL VERDICT: ***** (Simply wonderful, what more can I say?)

One comment

Leave a Reply

