Good is the enemy of great.

Well said and well put!

break the system

You may have heard this before. It’s a quote from Voltaire, and something my creative writing professor was fond of saying this semester. It is also probably the most motivating thing I’ve ever been told.

I’m a good writer. I know this. However, I am not a great writer, though I know I have the potential to be. My professor pointed this out to me many times over the course of the semester, showing me where my writing was lacking and where it was undoubtedly lazy.

When we know we’re good at something, we will undoubtedly go through a period of stagnation. After all, we’re good, right? And it’s easy to be good. It doesn’t take a whole lot of effort.

I’m here to tell you that Good is a conniving piece of crap keeping you from being Great.

Great takes effort, and Great takes time — more than Good…

View original post 178 more words

Leave a Reply

