Monday Musings: Everyone Should Roleplay!

Do you know what’s fun and surprisingly insightful?  Roleplaying!  More specifically roleplaying games, but honestly my points about RPGs count for lots of other roleplaying venues.  Of course, some of you may be asking exactly what I’m talking about, so …

Roleplaying in general is when people take other personas or personalities.  In this case, I’m talking about roleplaying terms of entertainment, like in actual pen-and-paper roleplaying games.  But if you think about it, most people have done roleplaying since they were children.  What else would you call make-believe, after all?  That, really, is what makes roleplaying games as an adult such a good thing.

Primarily, it’s a chance for adults to keep their imaginations strong.  Imagination is the source of creativity and it helps us all enjoy books, movies, and other creative works better.  It’s fun, it helps us get more fun from other things, and it keeps our minds and our wits sharp.

There’s another thing that RPGs are good for: it enhances our ability to relate to others.  It may not be possible to literally walk a mile in another man’s (or woman’s) shoes, but you can at least you can try to put your mind into the personality of one.  RPGs not only let our imaginations loose, they also let us experience new things, work out emotions, and learn about other people and other kinds of personalities.  Roleplaying at its best is the finest form of interactive group storytelling, and that’s a mighty good thing.

Stay tuned, friends, for this week’s Writing Is A Bad Habit on Wednesday and our Starving Review on Friday!  Until then, good luck, good reading, and good writing!

2 comments

  1. Reblogged this on break the system and commented:
    I roleplayed heavily from ages 11 to 17. This was intense writing, too, doing all kinds of genres with friends and strangers alike, and I honestly would not be the writer I am today without it. I was exposed to so many different kinds of writing — styles I never would have seen if it wasn’t because my partner used it. And not only did that influence my writing more than any book did, it also motivated me to become a better writer. As a writer, I’ve had no better formative experience.

    Unfortunately, I’ve lost touch with it. I’m too busy and too enthralled with my own works. But I would suggest that everyone try it, even if it’s just to get to know other writers. It’s so important and so helpful. I’m glad to see a post on it.

Leave a Reply

