Monday Musings: After Action Report! a.k.a. A Pensacon Post-mortem

Pensacon 2016 has come and gone.  It was a fantastic time for me.  I got to meet many interesting people, catch quite a few informative panels, and get some super smart advice from my fellow authors.  So what are the takeaways from this past weekend?

  • Interviews are actually pretty damn fun!  I sat down with three different podcast teams and, as those interviews come out, I’ll tell you about them, but it was enjoyable and interesting.  Will Do Again!
  • All of the folks from WordFire Press are great.  Dave Butler and Peter Wacks, in particular, were very supportive, fun, and full of advice for a Starving Author like myself.
  • I got to meet some great, legendary wrestlers, as well as the local promotion, Epic Championship Wrestling.  Fantastic chance to meet some inspirations for my work!
  • All the local authors were just as great.  Expect the next weeks to be a local author’s fest of reviews and interviews.  I bought a stack of them and each author deserves a moment in the sun!
  • I walked way too much on way too hard concrete for 30 some hours these past few days.  My feet hate me!
  • While I gave out a lot of business cards and got a lot of attention, that doesn’t turn into immediate sales.  Naturally, I wasn’t actually selling books, as I hadn’t managed to get a full vendor’s table, so that makes sense.  The week will tell if the attention turns into increased readership.
  • I *must* get tables at upcoming conventions.  I think that’s the last real hurdle to go.  People are interested in what I have to offer.  They will buy it, as many asked if they could from me, despite my lack of table.  If I can get them to read, I can get them to keep reading!
6 comments

      1. We have family in PCB and go regularly so we might be able to! We didn’t do any interviews for this con, because we are still trying to figure out our pod casting equipment having just gotten for Valentine’s day. The sandwich board was a great idea. I’m sure everyone that saw you remembered you!

  1. It was fun talking with you at Pensacon! Getting a table and selling books is definitely fun! Even when sales aren’t stellar, it’s really satisfying just being able to talk to people about your work. You should definitely tackle that and have fun doing it!

Leave a Reply

